Australasian Journal of American Studies (AJAS)


The Australasian Journal of American Studies or AJAS (ISSN 0705-7113) is the official journal of the Australian and New Zealand American Studies Association. It aims to publish the best submissions from around the world on all themes and all periods relating to U.S. history, culture, politics, film, literature, and society.

AJAS is published twice a year, in July and December. All submissions are peer-reviewed by anonymous experts selected by the editors. Articles appearing in this journal are indexed in Historical Abstracts; America: History and Life; and the MLA. The journal is part of both JSTOR and EBSCO Australian/New Zealand Reference Centre database, with content appearing immediately on these platforms upon publication. All work published in AJAS becomes the property of the Editors on behalf of the Australian and New Zealand American Studies Association.


The best article published in the journal in the two years between conferences is awarded the James Holt Award, a prize worth $500AUS.

The best article by a postgraduate student published in the journal in the two years between conferences is awarded the Peter Coleman Prize, valued at $250AUS.

AJAS also publishes the winner of the Association’s Norman Harper Prize, an award for an essay by an undergraduate student, valued at $250AUS. Submissions for this award must reach the Editors by November 15 each year at Submissions should be between 4,000 and 9,000 words long and be based on original research. They should include the student’s name and contact details and be formatted according to the submissions guidelines below, except for length.


Editorial correspondence should be addressed to Frances M. Clarke at: and Lucas Thompson at:

Manuscripts should be submitted electronically and meet the following guidelines:

  • Double-spaced text in MS Word.
  • Using Times New Roman 12 point font.
  • Endnotes following the conventions of the latest version of the Chicago Manual of Style.
  • Length of articles can vary between 7,000 to 14,000 words.
  • We have no limitation on the number of images that can be included. However, authors are responsible for obtaining permissions to use images under copyright restrictions, and must provide documentation showing that permission has been granted.
  • Contributors should include their institutional affiliation, brief biographical details, and an abstract of 50-200 words.

The Editorial Board is responsible for the selection and acceptance of all contributions, but the opinions expressed and the accuracy of statements made therein remain the responsibility of individual authors. Papers are considered with the understanding that they have not been published and are not under consideration elsewhere.


Frances M. Clarke                                                            Lucas Thompson
Department of History                                                    Department of English
University of Sydney                                                         University of Sydney

Send submissions to:

Managing Editor

Dan Dixon
University of Sydney

Reviews Editors

History and related disciplines:
Nick Fischer
Monash University

Literature and related disciplines:
Heather Neilson
University of New South Wales, Canberra

Films, documentaries, and TV series:
Blythe Worthy
University of Sydney

Editorial Board

Chadwick Allen, University of Washington
Dennis Altman, La Trobe University
Fitzhugh Brundage, University of North Carolina
Lisandro E. Claudio, Kyoto University
Clare Corbould, Deakin University
Yasuo Endo, University of Tokyo
Jennifer Frost, University of Auckland
Paul Giles, University of Sydney
David Goodman, University of Melbourne
Ian Gordon, National University of Singapore
Marilyn Lake, University of Melbourne
Brendon O’Connor, University of Sydney
Jane Park, University of Sydney
Barbara Ryan, National University of Singapore
Lisa Samuels, University of Auckland
Paul Taillon, University of Auckland
Takayuki Tatsumi, Keio University
Ian Tyrrell, University of New South Wales
Shane White, University of Sydney

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close