ANZASA History

The Australian and New Zealand American Studies Association was established in 1964 when Professor Norman Harper invited interested parties (around 40 people) to a conference at the University of Melbourne from 13-18 August. At a general meeting held during that conference it was decided to create the Association and to elect its first executive. The biennial conference and the associated journal, the Australasian Journal of American Studies (AJAS), are the two most consistent and important activities of ANZASA. Its support for young scholars is a hallmark of ANZASA’s orientations. For more information, see Peter Bastian’s essay “ANZASA at Fifty” (AJAS 33.1, July 2014).

ANZASA Executive

Timothy Minchin
La Trobe University

Vice President (Australia)
Paul Giles
University of Sydney

Vice President (New Zealand)
Jennifer Frost
University of Auckland

Timothy Verhoeven
Monash University

Barbara Ryan
National University of Singapore

Frances M. Clarke
University of Sydney

David Goodman
University of Melbourne



%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close